Delicious Ketogenic & Sugar Free Cheesecake!

20170314_173336

One of the things I knew I would miss when I started out with the ketogenic diet was a dessert.  I don’t have a huge sweet tooth but every now and again I do like to indulge in something delicious; however, with being a sugar addict I found myself indulging a little too often!

I find that when I am restricted from eating or drinking something, even if I don’t regularly consume it that is when my body decides it wants it the most.  I had to discover a healthy and tasty alternative which would replace the processed sugar based treats and keep a balance within my diet.

I was never a huge fan of stevia.  I used to chomp on the actual twigs in yoghurt many years ago and I’ve tried the powder which didn’t leave me wanting more but, being open minded I decided to try the liquid.  Boy, was I impressed!  It didn’t leave the unpleasant after taste that the powder does and it was very much like sugar in my book.  One thing I did realize is you must taste the mixture as you go along because one drop too many and it can completely ruin your dish.

My first life-saving experiment was cheesecake.

Unable to have nuts in the house due to my beau’s severe nut allergy, any recipe requiring nut flour is substituted with coconut flour but you can of course reverse this.

Cheesecake

¼ cup of coconut flour

4 tbsp. butter, melted

2 (8 ounce) packages of cream cheese

2 eggs

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

3 pipettes of liquid stevia

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a 12-cup muffin tin with muffin cases.
  2. Mix the butter a little at a time with the coconut flour.   On occasions, I have found I don’t need all the butter so you can gage the consistency as you go to make sure it’s not too soggy.
  3. Spoon the mixture into the bottoms of the muffin cases and press into a flat crust.  Note: The crusts will be fairly thin once the mixture is distributed. 20170311_172147
  4. Beat the cream cheese, eggs, stevia and vanilla extract together in a bowl with an electric mixer until smooth.  Depending on your preference for sweetness it may be ideal to start with 2 pipettes of stevia and 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence and keep adding until it is to your liking. 20170311_172333
  5. Spoon the mixture evenly in to the cases. 20170311_173303
  6. Pop in the preheated oven until the cream cheese mixture is nearly set in the middle, approximately 15 minutes. 20170311_174649
  7. Let the cupcakes cool at room temperature until they are cool enough to handle.
  8. Refrigerate 8 hours to overnight before serving.

The nutritional facts per cheesecake are as follows:

Total fat = 44g

Total carb = 1.6g

Dietary fiber = 0.83g

Sugars = 0.25g

Protein = 0.66g

They’re super easy and quick to make plus they’re to die for – happy munching!

Leave a Reply

