Quote of the Day

c34537fd603cbd42a831d8f823c6ee1e

As someone with epilepsy, when I hear the numerous accounts of careless and thoughtless comments flung around so flippantly, it reinforces the power that words run deep.  When negativity is heard repeatedly, it often becomes easier not to respond.  What about freedom of speech?  Well, yes but not at the expense of  causing a fellow human pain.  How is it that we can be forced into silence because it’s the easier option?  We shouldn’t have to live in this way because of the stigma attached to epilepsy.

So, just as respect comes into play here, I might just add in the light of these last days to consider your neighbor.  Whether you agree or not with the Presidency outcome people’s experiences are different; therefore, their choices come froma  place that you probably know nothing about.  Be kind to each other and show respect even if somebody doesn’t have the same values as you.  As we well know living with epilepsy, unless you walk a mile in someone’s shoes, you’ll never fully understand what it is like.

 

6 thoughts on “Quote of the Day

  1. Great post. I was diagnosed with epilepsy at the age of 15, was made fun of and kept my mouth shut. Now when I hear comments I immediately angered, but take a step back, calm myself, and take the time to educate people on what having epilepsy is like. I know they will never fully understand, but my goal is to make them think twice and make them aware. I recently had an encounter where I didn’t speak up, and I regretted it, and then I wrote about. Check out my blog post: You Never Know who’s listening. I also have other blog posts about epilepsy. Keep on writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment. I will be sure to check your blog and that particular post out.
      That’s my reaction too, if I don’t have the energy to explain I keep silent but then I realize, the purpose of having epilepsy is that we’ve been chosen as advocates.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yea,sometimes I don’t respond because I’m at first so taken back and angry and by the time I calm myself I realize so much time has passed that if I say something I feel awkward. Well I realize I shouldn’t have to be awkward, I’m not the one making fun of someone’s diagnosis and I have to realize that.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. The odd thing is, the most recent encounter I had where I didn’t say anything was an acquaintance…it was a friend of my boyfriend’s. We were on a trip together and I knew she didn’t mean it in a mean way, but it really hurt me. And my boyfriend and I were planning on leaving the next morning, but after that we both decided just to leave that night. I was just so awe strucken because I was pretty sure she knew I had epilepsy.

            Like

Leave a Reply

