A Change From The Norm: Margarita Hansen’s Story

With May, June and July seeing me returning to my home in England, I thought I would take the opportunity to switch up my blog and share with you some extremely informative epilepsy accounts.

As I have mentioned before, I have been very fortunate in connecting with some extremely inspiring people creating what could be perceived as unconventional friendships as we have never met in person; however, we have one significant thing in common, epilepsy.

I thought as my means are currently limited, i.e. my laptop has scratch marks down it from my nails when I decided it a necessity for someone to pry it from my hands in a bid not to use it, I would share epilepsy experiences and accounts of some of the wonderful people who live with this condition too.  There is so much that can be learned and implemented to potentially help reduce seizure activity and these women in particular have really gone above and beyond to do just that.

The first blog by Margarita Hansen, who I mentioned in a previous post on April 7th of this year called ‘Epilepsy Sufferer of 32 Years & Newly Diagnosed – Huh?!’ which encouraged me to find a new consultant, completely changed her life around.  She made incredible health discoveries and has found her epilepsy is now far more manageable.

Enjoy and thank you Margarita for sharing.

MHphotography20

Margarita Hansen’s epilepsy success story

Hi! I’m Margarita and would like to share with you how I’ve been successfully able to have control of my seizure disorder and live a very healthy and happy life.

I have had to learn a lot and overcome fears for the past 8 years since being diagnosed with mesial temporal lobe epilepsy. I have three types of seizures, simple partial, complex partial and grand mal. The first 4 years were brutal and I endured suffering I didn’t think I would overcome. I got frustrated with life, became depressed and got fed up with feeling sick and tired all the time. This is where my journey to wellness began. I will share with you what I have done to get healthy.

The first path I took was getting off most of the anti-epileptic medications that were causing my seizure disorder to get worse. I am on only 2 medications (Lamotrigine and Diazepam) and I ingest medicinal cannabis on a daily basis. I drink 2 ounces of cannabis juice a day, take cannabis infused capsules and vaporize high CBD cannabis strains. The second path, which is as important as medicinal cannabis, was changing the way that I eat. I first started out by juicing and drinking smoothies packed with leafy greens, vegetables and some fruits (mainly apples). I started to feel better and began to gain motivation. This newly felt positivity and motivation then led me to changing my eating habits. I changed to a plant-based lifestyle. It took me educating myself and doing my research on how others have overcome their illnesses through healthy eating. My diet consists of leafy greens, vegetables, legumes, high nutrient dense whole grains and limited sugar intake. I cannot emphasize how important it is to limit sugar intake. The third path I took was doing tai chi, qigong, yoga, meditation and breathing exercises. These exercises are great because they don’t put stress on the body like a hard workout would. The combination of cannabis, a plant-based lifestyle and gentle exercises has dramatically changed my life and seizure disorder. I know many people that suffer from seizure disorders do not have the access to medicinal cannabis but know that eating healthy is something that we have access to. I know it seems intimating but just know you can start by slowly transitioning to a new way of eating.

I have total control of my seizure disorder and am able to live a healthy, fulfilling life. Since I’ve been able to achieve success with my epilepsy, I felt that it was my duty to start a blog to share my story to inspire, give hope to others who suffer with epilepsy and help as much as I can.

I feel that what we put in our bodies really affects our mental and physical well-being. Honor your mind and body. Love yourself, accept yourself and you will reap the benefits.

Please check out a more detailed account of her story at her website http://www.livingkindly.us/ or https://www.facebook.com/Living-Kindly-1567690363545908/?fref=ts  She has recipes, resources and numerous other useful pieces of information about epilepsy there with of course details of how to contact her. 
Leave a Reply

