Day 4: Myoclonic Seizures

For those of you who aren’t familiar with with these seizures, I found a video on Youtube which demonstrates what they look like.

Myoclonic seizures are seizures often related with Juvenile Myoclonic Epilepsy (JME).  It is an epilepsy which appears in mid to late childhood and can carry through to adulthood.  It’s one of the more common generalized epilepsy variaties.

These seizures, unlike the atonic are based upon sharp, quick muscle contraction in the form of a jerk.  They are present in a number of different epilepsy syndromes and there is rarely a loss of consciousness when they occur.

I remember my first one.  I must have been about seven and I was on holiday with my family by the sea.  I was in the kitchen walking with the cup of tea and the tea spilled with the first jerk and then I think I dropped the cup with the second.  I don’t remember if this was a precursor to a tonic clonic (I’ll cover those later in the month) or if they were just stand alone seizures.

2 thoughts on “Day 4: Myoclonic Seizures

  1. It’s so hard to know which category to be in because I seem to have symptoms of 2 of the 4 you have posted so far and then I know that there has been tonic clonic in there as well as idiopathic and absence….OY!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

