Day 10: Why?

0270399_PE408321_S5

7 out of 10 people with epilepsy will never know why they have seizures.  It’s challenging enough living with it, but for such a high percentage not to be able to pinpoint the root cause, can you imagine how you would feel?

Fundraising is necessary for this cause in order to pursue the vital research which will not only give people answers but will offer opportunities to discover cures.  This in turn will provide a quality of life, something which for many, is an unknown.

7 thoughts on “Day 10: Why?

  1. I found in my personal journey that I needed to educate and research my own seizures as no one else, not even doctors can pinpoint all the other intangible things like emotion, stress, sleep, menstruation etc that lead up to your seizures. I journalled for months everything I ate, drank, if I had stress, when I was menstruating, etc documented all my triggers and looked into how to change my triggers mentally and emotionally so that my brain didn’t get so affected and scrambled because of them (neuroplasticity), hence less seizures. I have just written an autobiography about this very thing and am so excited to empower other people with this knowledge of self education. It’s a big committment. Thanks for your great site. Lainie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your comment – I agree wholeheartedly. I have had to do exactly the same and even come across situations when doctors have dismissed my triggers when I see a connection, let alone be able to control them. It is very much down to us to control and manage ourselves aside from the orthodox drugs and I think many people either miss that fact or aren’t prepared to put in the work which is really sad as we are so often able to help ourselves. Thank you for your kind words and I hope you continue to enjoy the blog. I’d love to read your book. Do you have a link?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m getting the cover done at the moment so it’s probably about a month away from being taken to the printers. Crowdfunding project goes up in 2 weeks. So excited. I’ll send you a link when it’s all up and running.
    Our system isn’t set up to empower people, it’s a fear based medical system. It’s just now that things are changing and there is an emergence of practitioners that understand the concept of holistic healing.
    I have been very real in the book about my experiences and my opinions with what I have encountered whilst at the same time being mindful that the medical industry does have an important function for many people. People just forget that their opinion still matters even though they don’t have a PHD. Lots has changed in 25 years and with people like us spruiking more self empowerment, maybe it will catch on

    Like

  3. That’s wonderful, I’m excited for you! I can’t wait to read it. I believe honesty is the best way to move forward, it’s eye opening for people. Similarly, I totally agree regards orthodox medicine having its place. It’s just essential that we all learn when it is appropriate to use. Thank you so much, I hope the last bits of preparation go smoothly and it all comes together well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

