Falling Into A World of Magic, Fairies, Adventures & Mysteries

FamousFive5

“Soon they were all sitting on the rocky ledge, which was still warm, watching the sun go down into the lake. It was the most beautiful evening, with the lake as blue as a cornflower and the sky flecked with rosy clouds. They held their hard-boiled eggs in one hand and a piece of bread and butter in the other, munching happily. There was a dish of salt for everyone to dip their eggs into.

‘I don’t know why, but the meals we have on picnics always taste so much nicer than the ones we have indoors,’ said George.”

–  Enid Blyton, Five Go Off In A Caravan

I’ve been working on another little project which has required me to research children’s books.  During this time I have been transported back many, many years ago when I began my life as a bookworm.  I have one of the greatest children’s authors, Enid Blyton, to thank for that.

The quotation above is the epitome of my childhood.  I would spend hours and hours locked away in my bedroom, sitting on my green beanbag reading an Enid Blyton book.  I read the numerous different series’ repeatedly till I exhausted them, I practically wore the pages away!  The magic that was contained in those pages was a door to another world and the creative spark to really stimulate my imagination.  It was an escape from the life of seizures.

When I started the research, it was just a convenient excuse to read all my childhood favorites again.  What I found to be really interesting as an adult is that the book takes on two very different meanings.  As a child you simply see the story, whilst as an adult there is quite a deep and meaningful message behind it.  For example (from my very favorite series):

“Well, you know what grown-ups are,’ said Dinah. ‘They don’t think the same way as we do. I expect when we grow up, we shall think like them – but let’s hope we remember what it was like to think in the way children do, and understand the boys and the girls that are growing up when we’re men and women.”

– The Island of Adventure

This has made me even more curious to discover what is behind more of her stories.  So with that, I bid you farewell as, yes, you got it, I’m off to get lost in the world of magic and adventures by the author whose writing is like the Peter Pan of books.

Leave a Reply

