Sailing the Seas of Medication Changes

Ship

Every day is a new day and that comes with new and exciting events.  For me, I woke up to find myself on a boat, yes a boat.  Getting up I realized I was gently veering from port to starboard on choppy seas.  The water since then has calmed and I sail along with a breeze varying in strength.

I always tend to forget that I have epilepsy and look at sufferers with compassion and a streak of empathy. I forget how difficult life must be and it rarely occurs to me that I am in the same boat.  This is not through a lack of acceptance on my part but through my determination to lead a life that is not interrupted by my epilepsy as a whole.  For some, I know this is not as easy due to the type of seizure activity they experience and how often it occurs.  I certainly count myself as fortunate with what I view to be a gift that I have.  It is mild in severity yet not yet fully controlled.  This motivates me to organize my life so that I maintain as normal a life as possible.

With this morning’s sailing lesson as I swerved (and continue to!) around my boat, I realize how much I have to achieve today.  With my impending trip to England tomorrow I have much to prepare in readiness.  I think perhaps my boat and I will take a trip into town and hope that the water is not too choppy.  I hope that I am able to do my errands and meet a friend for lunch without the winds increasing leaving me plastered against a side of the boat which will require a visit to the lower deck.

It seems that I will have covered most modes of transport over the next few days; my legs predominantly, the bus, an aeroplane and finally my boat which I am trying to steer to calmer waters.

IMG_20140701_185154

On a final note, as you read this please accept my apologies for any spelling, grammatical errors or missing words.  Writing this has not been as easy as normal and has required many proof reads to check for all the above so that I can create an understandable piece of writing.  My head (my ‘boat’) is swimming as my balance and vision (the ‘choppiness’) are askew.  As intrusive as this is, I find it particularly useful as it makes superb subject matter that someone could potentially resonate with.

I am always up for experimentation and at the moment and with a distinct change in medication that is exactly what I am doing.  It is to aim for a better life and to create a healthier environment for my kidneys and liver so they don’t have to work quite so hard as they do currently.  They have served me so well over the years and I feel if there’s an opportunity to give something back and create less stress for them then that is exactly what I shall do. It should be unsurprising to me how chemicals such as these can have the effect they do but I still remain surprised.  Perhaps this is because I have been served so well over the years as my epilepsy has being managed impeccably by Epilim, the British version!

You roll with the known, you roll with the unknown, you roll with the unexpected and you just have to roll with life because this is life!

Writing reaches an unspoken supportive hand to others.  You will not get any notifications and it will remain unknown whether this hand is grasped but as long as it’s out in the ether, someone may just reach out and hold it.

Leave a Reply

