An Attitude of Gratitude!

gratitude

With the residue of Helen Stephens’ inspirational article still swirling around the ether, though I had other ideas for today’s post they will be shelved for a later date because I want to focus on gratitude.

One of the things I have found as an epileptic, through research and the observation of others, is the potential to slide down that slippery slope of gloom.  This is an easy, tempting and unconscious road to find oneself travelling, focusing on the ‘can’ts’ instead of the ‘cans’.  However, it is quite overwhelming as I build up my Twitter account and connect with an increasing amount of communities and people on Facebook, to see the motivation and gratitude present in people who are directly and indirectly linked with the condition. What I see is thousands of people around the world dedicating themselves to the cause, creating something which in reality has the propensity to have one moping around the house.  The fundraising is immense, Bethan Davies who, after a successful surgery is cycling 300 miles from London to Paris in order to raise money for Epilepsy Action (you can follow her on Facebook and get more information on donating at https://www.facebook.com/BettyCycles).  Others, despite being wiped out having sustained numerous seizures have started blogs, support groups and various social media networks to share their experiences.  The runs and walks continue internationally and through the web woven on the internet, it maintains the positivity adding another building block to the wall of education and knowledge, thus removing one from the building constructed of fear and myths.

As I undertake my training to become a H.O.P.E  (Helping Other People with Epilepsy) volunteer and I read the information required, I realize how many options are now available further to the extensive research being undertaken.  It’s interesting, depending on the country I’m living in to see which methods of seizure control are more accessible and talked about than others. Nevertheless, there is much information which isn’t provided, not for the want of hiding it but because there isn’t always the time to discuss it.  I got particularly excited when I ascertained from research on the basic fundamental workings of electrical synapses and neurons, various possibilities as to why my seizures could be occurring.  This raised many questions that once discovered had me promptly skipping off to see my neurologist wanting proof of my new found theories!

The bottom line is that neurologists, as wise as they are (and I have been blessed with two beauties at Guy’s Hospital!) can’t tell you everything as they simply don’t have the time. That’s why I can’t advocate enough how important it is to do your own research on both orthodox and unorthodox methods as it gives an opportunity to get answers to questions which wouldn’t normally be asked.

Have you found that the information you’re seeking isn’t available from your neurologist, or maybe you’ve had success with complimentary therapies?  Share your experience below as you never know who’s life you could be making a difference in!

Leave a Reply

